Personal Trainer Dublin

Personal Trainer Dublin | Fitness Trainer Dublin

Healthy Eating On The Road- Making Healthy Food Choices While Travelling

Eating healthy on holidays is probably the last thing on peoples mind and in some way I agree.

If you are like me and you travel quite a bit then everytime you are in an airport isn’t necessarily a holiday but yet you are faced with the same dilemma.

Your hungry and there’s a Mc Donalds or a burger king staring at you everywhere you go. Or the sweet counter in the starbucks πŸ™‚

Truth is, you can make decent food choices anywhere you go. I mean ANYWHERE. I know it may not be exactly ideal but eating healthy or atleast maintaing your waistline while travelling does not have to be this big chore.

Take me for example. Today I was delayed 2-3 hours in the airport. I always come prepared with a protein bar. It keeps me sane πŸ™‚ but I was saving that for later so I went hunting…

I came across smoothy bars. Sugar party! No thanks.

Burger king weren’t taking any chances. If you look carefully you can see a second sign on the far side of the elevator. I actually didn’t notice that until afterwards. It cracked me up that I took a picture of two burger king signs at once!

Starbucks. Ohhh those treats look so good. Don’t they? If you are a coffee fan like me your just gonna have to be strong and order the:

‘grande black americano and no I don’t want cake or those tasty looking mini bars at the til or a little chocolate coin! Grrr’

Any airport I’ve been in lately seems to be getting better at providing fresh fruit and salad options in the WH Smith or the magazine stands sometimes sell a little bit. Go for it if your stuck.

Personally I went to the bagel bar today and I usually hit a subway if it’s available. You can get a pretty decent salad in either place. Usually the only restaurant you can get is a burger bar or the aformentioned burger king etc. So in this case subway is your friend! Just ask for the salad bowl. You’d be surprised how tasty it is.

I know there are sceptics saying.

‘duhhh that’s processed Bryan’

Yes it is but it is the lesser of two evils and im all for reducing the chances of making a nuisance of myself over getting an organic unprocessed NOTHING πŸ™‚

I’m on the plane now and to be honest the choice is close to ridiculous.

Scone – NO

Hot Cheese panini – NO

Brown bread sandwiches – NO

Full Irish breakfast – NO

Well maybe I am being a bit ‘Uber’ here are some recommendations that are less than ideal and a little crazy but probably ‘lesser of two evils’ for those of you who give a toss.

The panini and the scone will always be a no. Sorry.

But the sandwich and the breakfast can be ‘edited’ so that you won’t lose sight of your abs before the plane lands πŸ™‚

Crazy recommendation no. 1

I know im gonna get some flak over this one but if I was in a corner I would buy the sandwich and just eat the filling. Ridiculous eh? Perhaps but I can see my abs. Can you?

Maybe that’s okay for me because bread doesn’t agree with me and I actually never really ate it. Some people I know can eat a loaf of bread in a day WTF??

Crazy recommendation no. 2

Personally this would be my choice mainly so i dont look like a fruit loop picking chicken out of my sandwich. Get the full Irish and don’t drink the orange juice or eat the potato things that come with it. I know, I know;

‘all that saturated fat bla bla bla’

Remember this is not a lesson on nutrition for optimal health. This is about getting to your destination without having to get new clothes when you get there.

Just a quick one today but I just thought it would be helpful.

Bryan


I wrote this on my iphone while waiting for my flight to Heathrow, not bad eh? πŸ™‚


June 30, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Great blog! Very true that there is nothing good in an airport to eat. I just went thru the same thing. Flew from Orlando back to Fort Lauderdale and was hungry. Afer walking the entire airport, i finally decided the lesser of all the evils was Quiznos. I ordered the Philly Cheese steak and i begged them to keep the bread and give me a huge pile of lettuce and tomatoes and put the meat and cheese on top. The cashier looked at me like i was speaking in tongues. But i got what i wanted and i didn’t ahve to buy new clothes when the plane landed πŸ™‚ And Bryan, i would literally KILL to have your abs! πŸ™‚

    Comment by Linda | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Excellent advice there Bryan. Airports are always an “evil” place for healthy eating, but like you say there is always a way to make it less of a problem.

    Two of my tactics to cope with it are:
    1 – Pack your own lunch in disposable cookware and wait till the very last mean before you cross passport control to eat the food, if it is a short haul flight you only need to be at the departure lounge 30 minutes before so you eat and then go in.

    2 – The other one, which for me is the easiest one, and is also excellent for long haul flights is to plan my fasting day for the trip, so you eat as normal before you leave home and then from that moment until the same time next day you drink water. I will be going to the toilet in the plane like no other, but at least will be feeling, nice, healthy and fully hydrated with all the water I will be drinking.

    Paulo

    Comment by Paulo Duarte | July 1, 2009 | Reply

  3. M-Great read ! Very informative and matter of fact! Thanks- keep it coming!!! πŸ˜€ My fave line is I can see my abs, can you? Angela

    Comment by Angela | July 4, 2009 | Reply

  4. HOW did i miss this great post πŸ™‚
    and angela beat me to it, i was going to say the “i can see my abs, can you” is an amazing sentence, its hit home to me now that even bry has to be strict, yeah i know “derrrr lee” ha ha
    nice one bry

    Comment by privatstudmuff | November 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

