Personal Trainer Dublin

Personal Trainer Dublin | Fitness Trainer Dublin

Healthy Diet, Exercise And I’m Still Fat Part 1

The weekend gone was a big eye opener for me…professionally anyway, I stayed in and ate salad I swear 😉

On a serious note I was personal training men and women in their late 20’s early 30’s alot and it was a change from working with my other ‘trained’ clients.

The ones highly trained ABS lads that have jumping through hoops in the gym

Don’t worry, all the training isn’t like that! haha

It was more of an education for me than them to be honest…Lately I have been taking it for granted that people know that sugary/starchy food is really REALLY bad for them.

I was under the impression that people knew that walking around the place aimlessly for an hour a week will NOT shed serious bodyfat.

For example and initial consultation went something like this: (abbreviated)

Me: Have you been a member of a gym before?

Client: Yes

Me: Whats your current level of fitness?

Client: Good yeah…

Me: oh sorry when was the last time you trained?

Client: umm ehh about 6 months ago…but I walk twice every week

Me: whan was the last time you went for a walk?

Client: ehhh 3 weeks ago.


I am not trying to pick on this person, truth is I know her well and she have me permission to quote her 🙂

Can you see that she actually thought that by walking once every 3 weeks she was fit?

Even the ACSM (American College Of Sports Medicine) recommendations for a HEALTHY HEART have been skewed and people are taking them as weight loss and fat loss training routines.

’30-60 minutes of accumulative moderate intensity exercise 5 days per week’


Including:

Gardening

Walking the dog

Taking stairs

Seriously this is NOT enough training to burn off serious amounts of bodyfat.

I was down in the ‘Valley’ today doing some  training myself just today. Yes, it was a nice day and people had an excuse to go out for a walk. My problem was the majority of those people were out there walking for one purpose and one purpose only, to lose weight. Sometimes I feel like running around down there and handing out training programmes and ‘True and False’ statements about training for weight loss! I hate wasting time, especially when I ‘think‘ I am doing something constructive.

I wish I could get through to everyone and show them an effective training programme so they could stop wasting their time too. Yes, they should still walk when it is nice outside but they should be TRAINING too.

Whatever your personal goal is you should be TRAINING for it.

That does not mean that you should be out doing laps of the football pitch and sets of 50 chin ups, but you should be addressing your goals.

Going for long drawn out runs and jogging for hours for fat loss is nonsense.

Think about this…

You run for an hour 3 times this week, Great right?

Losing bodyfat fast right?

WRONG!

Long drawn out cardio is an endurance event. The training stimulus/message to your body is…

‘Must…build…endurance’

What is the first think you think your body does?

It gets economical at performing that exercise. Everytime you do that same run you burn less and less calories and your body becomes more and more resistant to burning calories. You essentially make your body better at burning calories so the same calories you burned last week are now able to take you a whole lot further.

GREAT…if you are training for an endurance event…SUCKS of you are trying to lose nasty bodyfat.

Yes, walking is a healthy PAST TIME but it will do next to nothing for your weight loss goals.

Yes, doing  something is better than doing no training at all but you will be found out fairly soon when you start training.

This Post got too long so im gonna release the nutrition one in a couple days 🙂 (that means you @peterc83)

Thanks for reading!

Bryan

Oh check out my guinea pigs’ blogs for the new ‘Athlete Physique’ programme that me and Ian have been working on.

http://jaybeasley.wordpress.com/

http://bobfaust.wordpress.com/

http://robelnino.wordpress.com/

http://robcrenshaw.wordpress.com/

July 27, 2009 - Posted by | motivation, training, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great post and even GREATER reminder Bryan ! TRAINING not just “working out” ! Thanks for the honest and no BS approach! Keep up the Good work! 😀 Angela

    Comment by Angela | July 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. So how much do you need to train to burn bodyfat. My Personal Trainer has me doing crazy hardcore circuits.

    Absolutely destroys me!

    Comment by James | August 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

