Personal Trainer Dublin

Personal Trainer Dublin | Fitness Trainer Dublin

You Wont Like This Post

I have a BSc honours degree in sport science and health… Not psychology so what I’m about to say might come off as insensitive or not “politically correct”.

But after coaching literally thousands of people over the past decade through my personal training studio in temple bar. Bootcamps in Dublin, web sites and email I’ve seen EVERY excuse for not starting, not making progress or just plain giving up.

 

 

Here are the 3 most common…

 

 

“I don’t have time”
“I don’t have money”
“I’m not fit enough”

 

 

So I say this with the risk of insulting a lot of people – but here I go.

 

 

STOP THE BULLSH*T!

 

 

These are excuses. Excuses that YOU are putting up. That’s right, they are self-imposed. You’re afraid that if you try it and it doesn’t work, you’ll look stupid. Right?

 

 

I know that’s what you’re thinking…

 

 

One of my best clients wouldn’t tell anyone he was training at the start because he thought that if it didn’t work and he gave up that it would look bad.

 

 

 

He’s now 120lbs lighter and he’s a personal trainer. He trusted in himself and me and got the result.

 

 

DON’T HAVE TIME??

 

 

If you can’t find 60 minutes in your day for yourself, then you are doing too much crap. Turn off the TV, get the kids to bed earlier, stop checking email 15 times a day, stop texting so much and cut out all the other nonsense. I have clients that work 70 hour weeks and clients that run businesses in Ireland and the US and clients that drive up from Naas in traffic 3 times per week to train.

 

 

DON’T HAVE THE MONEY??

 

 

You aren’t looking closely enough. There’s a thing called the ‘latte factor’.

Basically if you cut out alcohol and stopped buying lattes 2/3 times per day you would be literally €100’s better off each week.

If you think your too old, fat or unhealthy and think it could never work for you…?

Then you’re right!

 

 

I could think of something catchy to say here but I’d rather steal Henry fords words of wisdom here:

“If you think you can do a thing or think you can’t do a thing, you’re right” – Henry Ford

 

 

What he’s saying is you can do whatever you want. You just have to decide to do it. I’m not going to get all ‘The Secret’ on you here because willing or wishing it to happen won’t cut it here. You have to DO something. Not just think about it.

 

 

If you’ve made the decision that you can’t do it, you’ve given up!

 

 

We are personal trainers and exercise and health scientists… Your almost SUPPOSED to be unfit starting a personal training programme or fitness class… That’s what they are for. Don’t waste 3 months ‘walking yourself fit’.

 

 

>>>>ACTION STEPS<<<<

I guess what I’m trying to say is getting fit, looking and feeling better is NOT for everyone. Its for people who just take the next step an DO something. Get the ball rolling now.

-Throw out the bread
-Buy some vegetables and meat/vegetarian alternative
-Read this post on personal trainer tips
-sit down and write out where you are now and set goals.
-Take measurements (form below to print)
– Write down what you’ve eaten and when you’ve eaten it over the last couple days (2 at least) form to print below

 

 

 

See the gaps in your nutrition? Most people see it when they write it down and I don’t have to do anything.

If you’ve taken the 60 seconds or so to perform these couple of exercises then you are well on your way to getting where you wanna be.

 

WHY??

 

 

Because you DID something not just sat there and thought about it or wished it would happen and made excuses.

“Aw the printer didn’t work”
“my boss will give out to me”

 

 

BLA BLA BLA…

 

 

The people that succeed don’t keep making excuses. They don’t feel sorry for themselves. They get on with it.

Maybe you’ve failed before and felt stupid. Not this time.

That’s in the past. Today is a new day and leave all of the baggage behind.

 

 

EASY FOR YOU TO SAY…

 

 

 

Right about now comes the old “Well bryan, it’s easy for you to say. You’re a personal trainer”

Again, I say that’s bullshit. Excuse my French…

Do you think I was born with abs or any significant amount of muscle?

I work my ass off every free minute I have.

 

 

 

I was a bit chubby in my early teens. It sucked so I did something about it. I read books on nutrition and training. I started studying to be a personal trainer when I was 15.

Then I got too skinny in my late teens. So I lifted heavy stuff and ate more and got bigger.

I had no time for excuses and nothing was going to stand in my way.

 

 

It’s not that difficult to lose fat, get lean or gain muscle. You just have to be prepared to DO it. It may not be easy to stick to it but it’s simple to do when you know how.

Contact me here on my personal training website if you want to get started and do something

Thanks

Bryan Kavanagh BSc CSCS

October 14, 2011 - Posted by | motivation |

13 Comments »

  1. LOVE this post. Your direct honesty is refreshing and more people need to hear it!

    Comment by Electra @ vanillabeanlean.com | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Great Job telling it like it is! NO MORE EXCUSES!

    Comment by Ty Bateman | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. oddly enough I don’t drink coffee or alcohol but still don’t have the money to seriously train. HMMMMMM but I guess that’s an excuse. I’m 5’11 200lbs with 9% body fat and 31 years old. IT’s not an excuse it’s a reality. It’s taken me years to get to this point because I don’t have the money. Not everyone can make it their life like you do sir. Not too mention I’d be willing to bet the clients of yours who run businesses in the US and Ireland also make some pretty good money and can afford to eat wherever they want or have their meals cooked. Although I agree with the fact that most people make excuses as to why they get in shape, for some people it’s a legitimate reason.

    Comment by Matthew | October 14, 2011 | Reply

    • i guess you dont see it but you ARE serious about your training… If something has taken you years to do that means you are dedicated and fair play to you. having meals cooked and having money is not an issue to be honest. I cant make it my life, i train no more or no less than my clients. Its my job, my profession, a dentist doesn’t spend all day getting his teeth done, a doctor doesn’t spend all day on the operating tablem i work, then i do my own programme as if someone else gave it to me, most times i am reluctant to train but do it anyways. It has to be done and I accept that. It is not a special situation i am in that i can just train all day and eat well all day, its an effort… the same effort anyone else makes. i hope this makes sense?

      thanks for the comments..

      keep em coming 🙂

      Comment by bryankav | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  4. Cheers for this mail el kavo,im on the early today,wasnt gonna train cause i wasn’t arsed but read this last night and thought’ k I’m off the weekend so prob won’t train and if i don’t train today it will be 3days off then maybe Monday, so what did i do, alarm 4.30am Sams awake, fillets cooked and into jervis,a 45min chest and back session done,showered and opened gym 7am :-),even fellow trainers need that el kavo kick up the arse 🙂 many thanks 🙂

    Comment by Sam Fitzpatrick | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  5. As much as it pains me to say it Bryan has hit the nail on the head with this post. I have bee a client of Bryans for the last two years but before that I had never set foot in a gym. I didn’t like the way I looked and knew what I had to do to change it but – there was always a but! I eventually gave in and met with Bryan and have never looked back. Yes it costs money but if it is important you make sacrifices. I dont run businesses in the US or Ireland and my training costs are a substantial part of my salary. But, I make sure it is the first thing I pay for every month and after that I make sacrifices. If you really want something bad enough you will find a way to do it. We dont get many second chances so invest in your own life and make things happen

    Comment by Ronan | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  6. Hey man, I’ve been on the fence now about whether or not to start training with someone, in the past I’ve always started going to the gym just after the summer when I have been hesitant to et my top off out of embarrassment about being ridiculed over my body. However after a couple of months of no results I inevitably give up. Well this year I WILL make sacrifices and next summer be in the best shape of my life, I’m going to print this blog post off and read it any time I feel like giving in, thanks again man, your an inspiration!!

    Comment by Lyle Taubes | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  7. + 1 Bryan.

    Comment by Emmet Rushe | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  8. @Lyle – Take the plunge pal. I waited years to go for it, was too embarassed to join the local gym. Well, I joined once but didn’t actually go because I had no clue what I should be doing there, felt embarassed as I was overweight and it seemed like everyone else knew exactly what they were doing and all looked in better shape than I was. I wasted months and months of a gym membership before cancelling and getting personal training. I have made great progress since, my only regret is that I didn’t get off the fence sooner.

    Comment by G. Mac | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  9. Anyone Looking For Not Just Results,But A Complete Change In Their Whole Life-Get The Finger Out Now And Get Onto Bryan.Im A Previous Client Of His And I Can Honestly Say It Was One Of The Best And Logical Decisions I Have Ever Made-Fact.No Matter What Your Goals Are Your Surely Gonna Achieve Them Under His Guidance And His Coaching Skills 100 % Certain.Im Writing This Now Because Ive Been Their And I Overcame All The Excuses I Was Trying To Put Together,Along With The Doubts I Had Too.Today I Couldnt Be Happier As Im Walking Around 4 Stone Lighter,Around- 21 Kg,With Heaps Of Lean Muscle That I Never Imagined Id Ever Have.If I Can Do It So Can You-No Sacrifice=No Results 🙂

    Comment by john dalessandro | October 14, 2011 | Reply

  10. My take home pay after rent etc is €600 so theres no way I could ever afford training! I dont buy lunch or coffees. I make lunch and I bring teabags to work to try and save. I go out for drinks once a month and spend about €50. Would love an opportunity to train properly but thats never gonna happen!

    Comment by ciara | October 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Ciara,
      YOU are your own gym.
      If you can move you can train. You can do every type of bodyweight exercise you wish from pushups to plank, to body weight squats.
      Try 4 sets of 25 body weight squats and see how your legs and backside feel next day.
      Then when it aches like hell ask yourself how much that cost you to do.
      Start a 100 reps a day challenge for yourself, make it a different 100 reps of exercise each day and dont get bored get fit !
      Give it four weeks and do it 5 days a week. – Make absolutely sure you do not spend a penny on the challenge for four weeks.
      I personally have gone from FAT to FIT – VERY FIT in fact doing thats and also using kettlebells.
      I now take kettlebell classes for other people wanting to achieve their own weight loss and fitness goals – Ive just done one actually not ten minutes ago before finding this post.
      What did I charge them , NOTHING.

      SO to ANYONE who thinks that they cannot train cos they are too busy, too poor, too fat – GET REAL and MOVE YOUR FAT ASSES..
      Its that simple.
      NICE POST BRYAN.

      Eric ( Captain Kettlebell )
      youtube.com/FATtoFITvideos

      Comment by captainkettlebell | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  11. Totally agree with everything stated! I made all of the same excuses for 44 years, and then took charge of my life by working with a personal trainer. Now – at 45 1/2 I am a personal trainer and a nationally ranked athlete. I LOVE my life and I absolutely can’t wait to get to work every day of my life! There are no excuses…laziness and fear of failure hold people back. Nobody else can do “this” for you…you MUST get up off of the couch and and do it for yourself…YOU are worth it!

    Comment by mindybower | November 5, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

